Skip Navigation Links
FacebookFlickrTwitterYou Tube
Eclipse Awards

Manson K. Brown Genesis Award 

The Manson K. Brown Genesis Award is given to a Coast Guard Academy cadet or alumni whose forethought and commitment has fostered a community of inclusion by establishing traditions and practices that promote comprehension of and appreciation for diversity. Steadfast in the pursuit to create an inclusive space for underrepresented minority cadets while also enlighten his or her peers, this motivated leader has made sustainable contributions to the Corps of Cadets in an effort to promote an environment free from bias and discrimination.

Past Recipients:

  • 2016: LCDR Hoon Park
  • 2015: LCDR Marcus Canady
  • 2014: 1/c Andre Jones-Butler
  • 2013: Dr. Hallie Gregory
  • 2012: VADM Manson K. Brown

Merle Smith Pioneer Award 

The Merle Smith Pioneer Award is given to a member of the Coast Guard Academy community who has accomplished groundbreaking firsts at the Academy. This person has served as a beacon of inspiration among his peers to strive for the unimaginable and forge new paths of greatness through an exceptional determination to succeed. The award is a marker of the honor and courage required to lead, chart unfamiliar territory and reach heightened levels of achievement in the face of adversity and uncertainty.

Past Recipients:

  • 2016: LT Kimberly Young-McLear
  • 2015: RADM Sandra Stosz
  • 2014: CDR Darrell Singleterry
  • 2013: CAPT Steve Baynes
  • 2012: Mr. Merle Smith

JoAnn Miller Community Award 

The JoAnn Miller Community Award is given to a member of the Academy or the greater New London community who has worked as an active liaison between the Academy and the City of New London, building a bridge between the two entities. The efforts of the recipient have made significant, lasting contributions to the Academy, the cadets, and the New London community.

Past Recipients:

  • 2016: LT Takana Skelton
  • 2015: Dr. Robert Newton
  • 2014: CDR Erica Mohr
  • 2013: Mr. Louis Allen
  • 2012: Ms. JoAnn Miller

Frances Neal Humanitarian Award 

The Frances Neal Humanitarian Award is bestowed upon a cadet, alumni, staff or faculty member who goes above and beyond to provide support for cadets and the entire Academy through facilitation of an environment rich in community and comfort. This pivotal figure demonstrates an incessant passion for the well being of cadets and instinctively strives to empower cadets mentally, emotionally and/or academically. The actions of this award recipient transform the Academy into an inclusive community where all cadets can grow, be nurtured, supported, mentored and challenged to be dynamic leaders of character.

Past Recipients:

  • 2016: Mr. Dan Pinch
  • 2015: LT Claire Davenport
  • 2014: LCDR Royce James
  • 2013: Ms. Erin Mitchell
  • 2012: Ms. Frances Neal

For more information, please contact Mr. Andrew Duffield via email or by phone at (860) 701-6624.